It’s almost that time of year again!

National Novel Writing Month is nearly upon us again! Every November, writers hit pen to paper at the same moment, scribble furiously for two weeks, think they’ve earned a Thanksgiving rest, and then decide to spend the last week of the month awake.

It’s really a pretty cool thing. This group has convinced writers, amateurs and professionals, to start and finish a novel inside a month. That’s it really. Write 50,000 in the month of November.

I tried in 2011 and petered out very early on. I tried again in 2012. I may have gotten a bit farther last year, but still quit before even hitting the halfway mark.

Third time’s the charm!

It probably won’t be, but I am going to try again. And, like last year, I’ll be posting my progress on this blog. Even though it will be boring and a mess, I’ll be posting it here. And I can, because it’s my blog.

Here’s the thing: I don’t know what to write about. I mean, I have ideas, but I could write about any of them.

In these weeks before the official start date, I’ll be outlining. So I’m going to decide which idea will become my NaNoWriMo 2013 novel.

Here are my ideas:

Joshua’s Journal

This was last year’s attempt. It’s a story I first conceived while studying abroad in Italy. Joshua is a smart kid sent to smart kid camp, where he connects with old friends and eventually builds a time machine.

Future Girl Blog

A Christian teenager has spent her whole life on a satellite orbiting Jupiter. She’s decided to go to the ‘core,’ the hub of civilization and the birthplace of man.

Wondering at the Fires of Ilion

This was my attempt in 2011. The title is just a placeholder…but it is kinda cool. Anyway, this story is about a guy who suddenly and inexplicably stops … doing a certain expected activity and the repercussions this has on his life.

There are a few more ideas floating around in old notebooks, but I’ll probably choose one of these three. Do any sound good? Or interesting? Or possible?

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s almost that time of year again!

  1. Christen the core of Jupiter “the fires of Ilion,” and you’ve got a mash-up of your second and third ideas! I like the placeholder title – has a very Doctor Who quality to it… I like the second idea the best in these “pitch” forms. But good luck to you, whatever you write!

What dost thou think'st?

