Geeks of Christ Presents … August 24, 2012 edition

Here’s a list of what I’ve been reading, listening to, watching, whatever from around the web.

I haven’t been online very much this week. But I have consumed a fair amount of media in the archaic forms of DVDs and print.

Star Wars vs. Star Trek: The Starships Compared [Infographic]

by Diana Adams

Super-fun and funny mashing these two giants together.

Brad Huebert

Go ahead and read his whole website. It’s fantastic.

We’re into the same stuff. And he’s really good at it.

Star Wars


I’ve continued reading the old Star Wars comics that Marvel published. The first bunch of issues were written by Roy Thomas (Conan) and illustrated by Howard Chaykin. Once the adaptation of the movie was completed, they could go anywhere. They didn’t know anything about Empire Strikes Back or Return of the Jedi yet. There was no idea that Luke and Leia were siblings. So the romance was played up. Jabba the Hutt showed up, looking totally unlike his Duke Leto II worm/human hybrid appearance. And most obviously, the paternity of Luke was still unknown.


Having the whole Star Wars universe unexplored and in front of them, Thomas and Chaykin picked up Lucas’ affinity for Akira Kurosawa. Lucas adapted Kurosawa’s Hidden Fortress into the first Star Wars movie and Seven Samurai was the basis for the first comic story. Han and Chewie go to a poor farming planet and are commissioned with building a small army to protect a village against extortioners.

I love the rickety old comics and I hope to find to read some more over the next few months!

Dick van Dyke Show


An old favorite. My wife and I have been watching through these at the end of the night, in between all of the fun and busy stuff of life.


Although my crush on Mary Tyler Moore has faded, I find that I still want to be like Rob! He’s spends all day writing jokes and then comes home to host variety shows in his living room.

 Bible

My wife and I have tried to read a few chapters of the Bible together every night. Admittedly, we’re not always faithful to this, giving in to busy-ness and social interruptions. We managed to knock a few chapters out of Exodus recently.

And my guys group is going strong. We’re slowly making our way through I Timothy. Last night, we finished our twelfth of thirteen sessions. This is a good group of guys and I’m really getting a lot out of it, and especially enjoying the short walk to my friend’s house to get there. I used to drive a half hour to get to my other Bible reading group. So having one in the neighborhood is great.

This group goes at a much different pace than the previous group I was part of. In my other group, reading and getting through as much Bible material as possible was key. We’d read ten or twelve chapters and not even flinch. This group’s approach is much more methodical and meticulous. It’s a nice change of pace.

Have a great week! I’ll be away, but there should be an epic and wonderful Doctor Who thing popping up on here. Be sure to check it out!

What dost thou think'st?

