Geeks of Christ Presents…June 1, 2012

Here’s a list of what I’ve been reading, listening to, watching, whatever from around the web. 

What to Say When Someone Says, “The Bible Has Errors”

by Jonathan Dodson

Here’s a nice little correction of the annoyingly common and tragically misinformed statement, “The Bible Has Errors.”

Dodson helps to push some of the cultural and theological debris away from unbelief so that those who don’t yet know the peace and hope we have from Christ may be able to face deeper reasons for their unbelief. Because, frankly, shouting on the internet about the errors of the Bible strongly suggests that you were angry about God before you ever regurgitated that tired old argument.

Christians as Star Trek Fans

by Bob Seidensticker

I am quite happy to provide equal time. Here is a pretty good argument calling Christians to give up the fairy story. The first time I encountered this strain of argument was probably through Douglas Adams – an author whose work I greatly admire and whose work against the Church I am greatly disturbed by. He said, “Isn’t it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too?

Here is Seidensticker’s brief exploration of the concept. Of course, I disagree with it, seeing such fairy stories as useful in explaining the gospel. Fairy stories (Star Trek included) are all about being childlike, discovering another world, just on the other side of this one. There’s always a single doorway into this world. It can be Alice’s mirror, the Pevensie’s wardrobe, Dorothy’s twister. The doorway can even be the simple passage of time, as is the case with Star Trek. It’s this magical other world, just beyond our own.

I use fairy stories the same way Buechner does, so here’s what he said:

Here and there and not just in books we catch glimpses of a world of once upon a time and they lived happily ever after, of a world where there is a wizard to give courage and a heart, an angel with a white stone that has written on it our true and secret name, and it is so easy to dismiss it all that it is hardly worth bothering to do.”

Anyway. Enough disclaimers. Click on over and have a read. Here’s an excerpt of Seidensticker’s article:

“…Christians leave church and reenter conventional society.  Some know (or suspect) that the mythology isn’t real, like a trekker who’s in it for the pageantry and camaraderie, but many Christians do live the mythology.”

Fredric Wertham: Not a Complete Idiot After All

by Chris Gavaler

Wertham, a Jewish psychiatrist who left Germany during the rise of fascism, called superheroes “an off-shoot of Nietzsche’s superman” and joked that Superman, a “symbol of violent race superiority” should wear an S.S. on his chest.”

The Sinful Tragedy of Boredom

by Nathan W Bingham

To be bored is to fail to see the many and varied good gifts God has given us, not the least of which is in creation.”

Thirty Things to Love About Star Trek II

by Michael Poteet

Finally, here is a bit of fun from my friend Michael. Star Trek II will be a thirty year-old film soon and The Sci-Fi Christian is counting down the thirty reasons to love it!

My favorite thing: Kirk quoting Dickens, of course!

3 thoughts on “Geeks of Christ Presents…June 1, 2012

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, Mickey! I have to confess my own knowledge of Dickens is woefully inadequate… but I recognize the last lines of “Tale of Two Cities” thanks to this film!

  2. An interesting post (and thanks for the link) but I’m missing the rebuttal to the charge that the Bible has errors. Have you gone into detail on this topic before?

    By interesting coincidence, I attended a panel of different religious speakers last night. The Muslim said that (1) the Koran contains lots of accurate scientific statements and (2) the Koran has zero contradictions. I wish I’d had the chance to engage this speaker afterwards, but my understanding of this is that, yes, the Koran, interpreted according to their rules, has no errors.

    Muslim legal law has the rule of rule of abrogation, which means that when there is a contradiction, the (chronologically) later statement in the Muslim holy books abrogates (replaces, annuls) the prior one. So by acknowledging the contradictions, they are left with (by definition!) no contradictions.

    Anyway, that’s an aside I thought you might find interesting. Back to the topic, Christianity has no such law, and there are lots of problem passages that Christians bend over backwards to harmonize. Seems a little more honest to me to simply acknowledge the contradictions to see the Bible more accurately.

    • Thanks man! I appreciate your visit and excellent comments.

      On Fridays I just present a handful of articles from all areas of my interest and present them so my readers can see something new. So I tend to just touch on the topics of those articles I’ve linked, instead of drafting a fuller response. That’s why I didn’t exhaustively report on your article. I felt the need to introduce, given its exploration of a concept quite central to this blog. Generally, I just let the articles I link speak for themselves. Hence my very limited introduction to Mr Dodson’s piece about Biblical inerrancy.

      As for the Muslim rule of abrogation: I’ve heard of that before. I’d say the closest corollary in Christianity would be the covenant system. “The Law came through Moses. Grace and truth come through Jesus Christ.” So there’s this idea that God is progressively uncovering more of His plan of restoration.

      Peace! And thanks again for the original piece and for follow-up here.

What dost thou think'st?

