Geeks of Christ Presents…April 20, 2012

Here’s a list of what I’ve been reading, listening to, watching, whatever from around the web. 

The Doctor Who Podcast Episode #138 – Literary Influences in Doctor Who

My favorite Doctor Who show that’s not Doctor Who itself explores the literary references in the show, the literary impact of the show on its viewers, and the timeless story themes present in the show.

The Speculative Christian: Rearranging Icons
by E Stephen Burnett

This is an amazing website. When I first saw it this week, I thought about giving up what I was doing here. These guys are sharp! I have since relaxed, confident that, while we share a similar approach, the subjects I review tend to be different. I love their work and hope to be involved in a crossover at some point.

Sometimes those archetypes are so deep that it takes years to find them. One notable example is Prof. Michael Ward’s theory, which I believe to be valid, that C.S. Lewis, given his literary and mythological background, embedded references to the seven medieval planets in The Chronicles of Narnia, such as theming The Last Battle around Saturn.

Man or Monster? Studios : Stained Glass

The Ethical Rot Behind ‘Before Watchmen’ & ‘The Avengers’
by David Brothers

I’m too conscious of the wrongdoings of both companies to be able to support them and not feel complicit and terrible in their exploitative and unjust practices.”

Chris Roberson Quits DC Comics
Bleeding Cool News

In a better world, characters like the Legion would be owned by a more ethical company, but sadly not in this one. The short version is, I don’t agree with the way they treat other creators and their general business practices.

*****

One of my favorite ever movies is playing at the theatre behind my house tomorrow night! Some friends are coming over, I’ll make a cake, we’ll listen to the LP. It’ll be a good night.

What dost thou think'st?

