Geeks of Christ Presents… October 26th Edition

Here’s a list of what I’ve been reading, listening to, watching, whatever from around the web. To kick it off, here’s two from the excellent website Christ and Pop Culture.

Counting Moral Indiscretions Is Not a Movie Review

by Brad Williams

I have always felt that numbering expletives is a sort of strange way to review a movie. It is like dissecting the innards of a hamster to figure out if it might make an appropriate pet.

All Hallow’s Read: Why We Should Read Scary Stories for Halloween

by Erin Newcomb

My three-year-old loves to feel the shivers, with this story [Frog and Toad] and others. Yet when I started reading fairy tales to her, I edited them. I took out the part where the first two little pigs get eaten by the wolf, but numerous re-readings and my daughter’s adept memory soon ended that practice. I couldn’t keep up with all of my extemporaneous revisions, and I soon started to wonder if I was trying to protect my daughter or myself from the real text. It seemed like I had to decide forever betwixt two things—read the story or not. All right then, I thought, I’ll go to hell. And we all got the shivers.

A More Accurate Definition of the Word Integrity. You May Have More of it Than You Thought.

by Donald Miller

Religious communities love the word integrity but I don’t think many of them understand it. Sadly, the word is often used as a way of painting ourselves as righteous, or worse, to describe another person in unrealistic terms.

True Confessions of a Gen-X Trekkie

by Shanna Gilkeson

The Undiscovered Country Project continues their month-long tribute to that endlessly fascinating hero of sci-fi, Spock. You can still check out [PLUG ALERT] my article for Spocktober, here.

Shanna Gilkeson provided this touching and charming piece recently:

As Star Trek nears its 50th anniversary, we all know by now that fandom in general – and Star Trek in particular – attracts those of us who’ve felt different from everyone else, who’ve been marginalized by the various communities to which we belong, who feel like outsiders in our own towns, our own schools, and even our own homes at times.

Eleanor asks, :”What scares you, Theodora?”
Theodora answers, “Knowing what I really want.”

 

What dost thou think'st?

